Crazy Busy Life

July 2, 2012

Every time I receive an email alert that a blog I follow has been updated I cringe a little, damning myself for not having the discipline or energy to post at 3am.

Then I remember that some of these lovely bloggers have babies that demand attention in the middle of the night and that perhaps late night breast feeding and blogging go hand in hand.

And then I remember that sometimes I am doing really excellent things at 3am that are way preferable to blogging. Sometimes that awesome thing is even sleep!

Lastly, I then remember how my best defense as to why I am a terribly inconsistent blogger is that I am out living an exuberant Cleveland Socialite’s life and Live Writer is not an acquaintance I lug around town. *

To that last point, my ultimate excuse / justification was validated today whilst reading commentary in the NY Time’s Opinionator column.

01anxietyimg-tmagArticle

Tim Kreider essentially calls out everyone who used the phrase “I’m so busy; crazy busy right now” to promote their own social status and proclaim to the world “I am important and everyone wants me and everyone needs me and so dear pile o’ laundry, you will just have to wait for me to schedule a date with you on my Outlook calendar”.

(What? You don’t schedule in trips to the grocery store, phone calls with old friends and dates with your dishwasher?!)

In the first paragraph of the article, he even he goes to far as to say our “compliant” is really a boast. So, yes, please go ahead and compliment me on my inability to sit down and watch a single Olympic Trials swimming race. A race that takes .0000005 seconds for these champs, mind you.

It’s true, I’m exhausted and there is a large pile of dishes, shopping bags waiting to be emptied, unopened mail, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I love that I have to schedule time to sit on my couch and read 1/3 of a magazine before I decide this activity is too idle and its time to warm up the lasercutter and make some crafts. I love that I have a stack of library books measuring 2’ tall next to my bed and that I am able to read 1/3 of a page before falling into sleep or springing up from horizontality to seize the opportunity to do something that feels more productive (likely, not blogging). I love how I have lost the ability to sit and watch a movie without multitasking. I love being busy.

Like the author points out, busy people “feel anxious and guilty when they aren’t either working or doing something to promote their work. They schedule in time with friends the way students with 4.0 G.P.A.’s  make sure to sign up for community service because it looks good on their college applications.”

“Busyness serves as a kind of existential reassurance, a hedge against emptiness; obviously your life cannot possibly be silly or trivial or meaningless if you are so busy, completely booked, in demand every hour of the day.” 

I believe this truth to be self-evident. Why else would I take the time to create Facebook events? And not just any events, events I plan, create, take control over. And it’s true, we make ourselves even busier than any work or otherwise engagement asks us to be. Case in point: We cannot just go out and have a night on the Detroit Shoreway or West 6th, it has to be a faux Bachelorette party. What is that? Who knows! We made it up. Because the extra work and effort that goes into that validates our lives. And because getting together with friends cannot merely consist of porch sitting, but must contain substance and content, like a lecture, a gallery opening, a yoga class. Sure we can must go and down a bottle of wine afterwards, but to just happy hour feels empty, incomplete, a poor use of time.

If you are like me, you’ll enjoy Happy Dog’s new series of lectures presented by Case Western Reserve University professors called Life, the Universe and Hot Dogs. The series promises enlightenment whilst munching on tater tots and hot dogs. It’s like eating in front of the Discovery Channel or devouring the Times while sipping coffee. Or eating lunch and writing this blog post. It is multi-tasking my busy friends, at its finest.

__

*I know the same goes for Nidhi, who hosted a unique Bridal Shower for a co-worker at Phoenix Coffee on Saturday and went to a wine tasting Bachelorette party in Geneva on Sunday. Why haven’t you heard from her? Duh, she’s busy doing something awesome right now like g-chatting with me and eating lunch with interns because some Excel spreadsheet told her to (engineers are strange!).

2 Responses to “Crazy Busy Life”

  1. […] Opinionator columnist Tim Kreider. Or, if you’re feeling like an opinion on an opinion piece, pop over to Cleveland Socialite for the scoop from a crazy busy social butterfly’s perspective (instead of from Tim’s, who refuses to get caught in the web of dinner parties and beach days and […]

  2. Way to be subtle. I ALSO LOVE BEING BUSY!!! But then I don’t have time to blog about the business 😦

Leave a Reply

