Luau for a Cause

July 17, 2012

Luau Cleveland has certainly been feeling like a tropical island lately, so it made perfect sense when new friend Julie of blog fame wearingmascara.com and twitter stardom @wearingmascara asked me to join her at a luau on Saturday.

logo2Why I didn’t think to wear my Parrot Head sunglasses and shell bra is beyond me!

Luckily, the party – benefitting SC4K (Shoes and Clothes for Kids) – outfitted attendees with such props, as you can see Julie and I enjoying below!

IMG_3647-1024x768The 7th annual event, held at Wendy Park on the Eastern most tip of Whiskey Island, is hosted by SC4K, the only non-profit organization in the Greater Cleveland area that provides new shoes and clothes to children in need at no cost. Due in part to the funds raised through the Saturday event, in 2012 the organization will be able to contribute over $2 million in Payless giftcards! And with Payless’ stellar BOGO deals, that’s like $3 million. WOW!!!

Despite threats of thunder, Lake Erie remained calm and there was even a breeze enough to make me chilly. (Disclaimer, my body temperature and my body’s ability to feel normal temperature swings has greatly been altered thanks to my sweltering “penthouse” apartment’s sizzling temps).

image001 Julie was offered two VIP tickets, granting us 3:30pm entry, luau-themed goodies and complimentary cocktails. Nothing like day- drinking with martinis and margs, especially the new Jose Cuervo Grapefruit Tangerine mixer that tasted like heaven. (Disclaimer Two: When I’m around grapefruit and grapefruit flavored things, I become a different person. I told the bartender my body wash is grapefruit flavored. She gave me the TMI look)

IMG_3649-1024x768 Also on the menu was complimentary wine tasting by Barefoot (love their new Red Moscato so much I requested Stephen buy it at Geagle), unlimited Budweiser beer and a buffet dinner.

I’d say the best part of the event was the relaxed atmosphere. Attendees were encouraged to bring their own beach chairs (we snatched a picnic table thanks to our early arrival) and there were lawn games. It was like a neighborhood block party for a cause.

I also enjoyed being photographed for Cleveland Magazine and meeting new friends and fellow bloggers. Julie knows everyone! Untitled-1 IMG_3662-1024x768 The things I didn’t like were the port-o-pottys and the fact that you had to be present to win the raffle prizes, which were drawn at 8pm, a good 4.5 hours after the start time. After all, this Cleveland Socialite has places to be on a Saturday evening!

Overall, a very enjoyable casual event that brought out all kinds of party people looking to support a good cause. Special thanks to SK4C board member Rachel, who made us feel welcomed and was so passionate about the organization. YOU ROCK!

IMG_3643-1024x768Can’t wait for next year’s 8th Annual Luau on the Lake Soiree!!!

2 Responses to “Luau for a Cause”

  1. So glad the weather held out for you! Looks like it was a cool event AND you got to hang out with one of my favorite bloggers ladies!

  2. Thank you for the awesome recap Ali! I am thrilled you had a great time. I hope you can come back next year!

Leave a Reply

