Social Balloon

July 24, 2012

3-mr-7web Lately, I have felt like my CleSocial life is ballooning to enormous dimensions.

Weekly, I forge new friendships and existing relationships in the 216 strengthen. I relate this phenomena to the Midwestern friendliness I feel all around me, but its honestly not a position I thought I’d find myself in only 1.5 years after uprooting from the East Coast and moving to this city where I didn’t know a soul!

3-cf-6-web I feel so lucky to be surrounded by such wonderful, giving, hilarious, intelligent and creative people. So much so, I WANT TO STICK THEM ALL IN A GIANT BALLOON, a balloon that folds up and neatly tucks away into the back of an old milk truck, where I could take my friends with me, wherever life leads me next!

Lucky for me – unlucky for friends who may be claustrophobic -  such a balloon IS COMING TO CLEVELAND THIS WEEK!

from CUDC’s Facebook page where you can RSVP to the event:

You’re invited to have lunch in the SPACEBUSTER!
The SPACEBUSTER, a delivery truck carrying a 40′ long inflatable room, will be stopping in Cleveland this week en route to Flint, Michighan from Brooklyn, New York.

SPACEBUSTER will park in a vacant lot adjacent to the Agora Theater on Euclid Avenue and deploy a pop-up social space in the burgeoning Midtown District. The SPACEBUSTER will open to the public from 11am – 2pm on Thursday, July 26th.

Grab lunch from Umami Moto Food Truck or The Hipp restaurant next door and bring it inside the SPACEBUSTER, learn more about plans for the Euclid Corridor and share your thoughts for the area. Representatives from MidTown Cleveland will be on hand to gather your feedback.

The SPACEBUSTER’s current road trip is part of the Flint Public Art Project (http://www.flintpublicartproject.com/) organized by Producer & Artistic Director Stephen Zacks in partnership with the Flint Institute of Arts and funded by the NEA’s Art Place grant. Invited by Storefront for Art and Architecture in 2009, the SPACEBUSTER was initially developed and designed to explore the qualities and possibilities of public space in New York City. SPACEBUSTER interacts with the architectural and the social space and its conditions. It opens urban space for temporary collective uses.

More info and images of the SPACEBUSTER: http://www.raumlabor.net/?p=1799

SEE YOU THERE FRIENDS 🙂

3-mr-1web

http://alithearchitect.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/spacebusting/

Leave a Reply

